Roasted Brussel Sprouts

Brussel sprouts are a staple in our house.  My kids will steam them in the microwave from the blanched frozen bags from our garden.  They love them with a little butter and salt.  So when we run out of our homegrown and I am forced to buy them they are usually larger than ours as we like the baby sprouts and pick them early.  When I do buy them I tend to roast them rather than steam them which is what I did tonight.  Ribs, brussel sprouts and homemade applesauce (we made in the fall and froze).  As my 9 year old son put it “this is a perfect dinner”.

ImageImage

Image Image

Image

Clean and wash the brussel sprouts, cut the ends off and cut them in half, mix them in a bowl with just enough olive oil to make them a bit shiny and sprinkle them with sea salt, pepper, and a little garlic powder.  Lay them on a foil lined baking sheet and bake them approximately 30 minutes until they are tender in the middle.  We like them a little crispier on the outside so I leave them in until they are browned.  

Pieces will break off when cutting them and I put them in the bowl and on the sheet anyway as the kids eat them as little brussel sprout chips.

3 thoughts on “Roasted Brussel Sprouts

  1. And speaking of growing sprouts… any hints? I am in South Central Pennsylvania and am having some trouble getting mine to produce before the end of the year! I got lucky (?) last year and got a handful or two, but I was kind of disappointed. My mom and dad never grew them within my memory span. Mom says she tried them, but they need such a long season that its impractical here. You are in Buffalo? You have to have a shorter season for them than I do! So whats the secret? Greenhouse? Special plantings? Please! I love those things and would really like to grow them for myself! 🙂

    • Yes we are in Buffalo. I have grown brussel sprouts for the past 4 years or so. I start them in pots in the house usually the first week of March. Use the larger size pots not the little ones so the roots can keep growing without binding. Last year I harvested around the first week of September right through to October. I had 5 plants that produced. I actually was at Home Depot yesterday and they have all their brussel sprouts started and out for sale as small plants. The first year I grew them I bought them from there already started. I make sure to watch them for slugs as they tend to gravitate to them along with the cabbage. To get rid of them I use the beer in a bowl method which works great. My plants I started March 10th are about 4 inches tall right now. Can;t put them in the ground yet but probably will next week and cover them if it frosts after that. Hope this helps you!! I wash and freeze them so we have them year round and I thought we were out but found a last treasured bag the other day. Hiding them from the kids 🙂

Leave a Reply

