Stuffed Peppers

Image
Remember the other night I had to open one of our canned homemade sauces for our Braciole?  Well I had 1/2 the jar left so I had to figure out something to use it so tonight’s menu is stuffed green peppers.

My son is not a big fan of the whole pepper and will eat about 1/2, but he loves the filling so I make extra.  Again such an easy dish to make. I actually made mine this morning in less than 10 minutes so tonight I only need to throw them in the oven to bake.  I will pick up a loaf of fresh bread from the bakery near my work on the way home and that’s it!!

Image

First you cut and hollow out the peppers (saving the scraps for the goats of course and with a play microphone on the counter incase you have to sing!!)

Image

Next boil and brown the ground beef (I always boil my ground meats in water in the pan about 4 minutes) drain and then brown it.

(I added a handful of chopped onions into the boil/brown process)

Cook your instant rice (I use the instant brown rice)

Image

Mix the cooked rice and meat/onion mixture in a bowl and pour your spaghetti sauce over the top and mix it in

Stuff the peppers

Image

That’s it.  When you are ready to cook top the peppers with more sauce, tent with tinfoil, bake them at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes until the peppers are tender, throw your loaf of bread in quickly near the end to warm it, heat the leftover stuffing mixture and dinner is served!!

4 large peppers

1 pound ground beef

1 small onion

2 cups cooked rice

1 jar spaghetti sauce or homemade pasta sauce

(you can also melt some mozzarella on top before serving and serve with fresh grated parmesan cheese)

Leave a Reply

