Creamy Sun-Dried Tomato Sauce

Image

In February I was asked to enter a Cancer cookoff.  It was called Cooking for Cancer Pasta Sauce Off.  The idea was to make a sauce and have people come to the event buy tickets to sample the sauces on pasta, basket raffles, 50/50 and silent auctions to raise money for Roswell Park Cancer Institute in Buffalo, NY.  This was hosted by two 11 year old girls in my daughters class who created a club called “Cooking for Cancer”.  How could I refuse!!

So I went on a mission to find/create the best sauce I could to compete against 18 other entries and came up with my Creamy Sun-Dried Tomato Sauce.  Over 400 people attended the event and voted.  I am happy to say I won!!!  MORE IMPORTANTLY these two girls raised over $4,600.00 for cancer research!!

 Image

I must have collected 70 emails from people who attended asking for my recipe.  I made it tonight as a side dish so thought I would share it as it is SIMPLE!!!  Your friends will be impressed trust me!!  Recipe at bottom

Image

This is all you need!!  Very inexpensive to make

Image Image

Chop the onion and garlic and soften in butter in a sauce pan.  Next chop the sundried tomatoes very fine (I use my very small chopper which I love!!) but you can chop by hand if you want.

Image Image

After the onion and garlic have sauteed in the butter for about 4 minutes add the finely chopped sundried tomatoes, tomato sauce, heavy cream and basil

Image Image

Let simmer for 15 to 20 minutes while pasta cooks and serve on the pasta

Image

When I make this as a meal I add cooked chicken into the simmering process and serve it over pasta.  It’s a full meal!!

CREAMY SUN-DRIED TOMATO SAUCE

1 small onion, diced small

3 cloves garlic, minced (I use fresh as it holds the flavor better but you can use jarred)

15 oz can tomato sauce (I use Contadina with Italian Herbs)

1 jar sun dried tomatoes, chopped very fine (I use about ¾ of the jar or adjust to more or less per your taste)

1 pint heavy cream

Basil, chopped fine (about 4 nice size leaves)

Olive or grapeseed oil roasted garlic flavored (you only need about 2 tablesoons)

3 Tablespoons butter

 

Saute the garlic and onion in the butter and olive oil until just soft (approx.. 4 minutes) in a regular sauce pan, when soft add the tomato sauce, cream, sun dried tomatoes, and basil. Simmer about 20 minutes very lightly so the flavors all combine.

 **I usually cut up some cooked chicken and throw it into the simmering sauce and then serve it over penne or ziti pasta.

 You can also add parmesan cheese to the sauce or sprinkle on after and for a zing toss in some red pepper flakes

Now next time you need to impress some friends…remember this sauce.  I’d love to hear from you if you try it!!!

 

4 thoughts on “Creamy Sun-Dried Tomato Sauce

  1. Good for them! I love hearing about kids making a difference. And congrats to you! Thank you for being part of the (mis)Adventures Monday Blog Hop!

Leave a Reply

