Chocolate Eclair Cake (this is a good one folks!!!)

Image

Wow…is all I can say.  This was from a post on facebook and promised ease and deliciousness and it provided both!!

It is my friend of 23+ years birthday today.  Every year we get together and enjoy a dessert on our birthdays.  She ALWAYS wants Boston Creme Pie.  I usually request brownies (any type as I love them all!!).  After seeing this cake on FB I approached her carefully suggesting we try this as it’s close to the store bought pie we always have.  She reluctantly agreed.

So yesterday I made it.  It calls for a 9×13 regular cake pan so I made 2 smaller pans so we could have one for dessert last night as you know, we should probably try it before I spring it on her!!  My kids asked to help make this and it’s so easy and fit right into their realm of baking (because there is no baking!!). 

Here are the pictures of them making it:

Image Image

Image Image

And that’s it!!  Refrigerate and wait to dig in.  This was light, rich, creamy, chocolatey, and wonderful!!  After dinner we all tried it and my kids and their friends (there’s always friends at my house it seems, I have somehow become the “Kool-Aid” mom!!)  LOVED this and are already begging me to make it again.  It’s impressive looking too which does not hurt when bragging how you slaved to make it!!

Recipe below:

Ingredients:

1 package (1 lb.) graham crackers (I bought 2 boxes and used a few from the 2nd package as I made 2 smaller containers)

2 small french vanilla instant pudding (3.4 ounces each)

3 cups milk (I used skim)

8 oz.  Cool whip (thawed)

1 prepared chocolate frosting (you can make your own too)

Mix pudding, cool whip and milk in a bowl.  Blend together for about 2 minutes (not more).

Place a layer of whole graham crackers on the bottom of a 9×13 cake pan (or use the 8×8’s like I did), then top with 1/2 the pudding.

Cover pudding with another layer of graham crackers, top with remaining pudding and another layer of whole graham crackers

Melt the frosting in the microwave for approximately 50 seconds, stir and pour it over graham crackers spreading gently to cover

Chill for 4 hours or overnight if you can wait that long!!!

Let me know what you think if you try it!!

 

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Eclair Cake (this is a good one folks!!!)

Leave a Reply

