I am not sorry…

It seems I am always apologizing when we go out with friends for being the first to say it’s time for us to leave.  I may seem like the “downer” in the group as I don’t drink like I used to, want to stay out much past a wonderful dinner and after dinner drink and I turn down many invitations to join great friends for a night out.  It’s not that I don’t enjoy it as I truly do.  I love getting out with our different groups of friends for a dinner at a new restaurant and socializing.  But after a great conversation over a nice dinner and drink, I am ready to head home.  So out come the words “sorry guys we have to get going”.  My friends are used to this from me now and sometimes they will try and convince me to stay for one more drink.  But most know it’s a waste of their time. .

Last night after dinner at a new restaurant in Buffalo and heading upstairs to the “hip” bar simulating a bar in the arctic carved out of ice, I was trying to figure out why I was counting down the time in my head to go home.  I enjoyed being there with my friends and had a great couple of hours over dinner and drinks.  But it hit me….I like my friends, even love some…but I love my home life more!!  I like being there to tuck my kids into bed.  I like knowing they find comfort in knowing their mom and dad are home and they are safe and sound.   I like knowing my barn is secure and all of our animals are fed and set for the night.  I like feeling fresh and not over tired the next day after a few hours out so I can enjoy what ever the day brings.

So after a brief stay in the arctic setting I decided I am not sorry and I will not apologize anymore when I feel I want to leave.  I very nicely leaned into the group of our friends and said…time’s up for me.  I’m ready to go home talk to you all soon!!

family

Leave a Reply

