Pot Roast

Image

A comfort food dinner in our house (one of many) is chuck roast pot roast.  Being a chilly 46 degrees in Buffalo today with rain, we needed this comfort dinner.  This has been a very cold, wet, gray spring.  The natives are restless as well as their parents.  I want to get my gardens going, the flower beds are now sprouting very big weeds but unless I want to weed them in the rain in my snowsuit, they are going to keep growing.  I want to get a horse trained for a horse show but the arenas are under water.  UGH…I need some comfort food.

This morning before we left for Canada for a hockey game I quickly browned a chuck roast in our cast iron dutch oven.  Once browned I threw in some carrots, onions, and broth for gravy and set it in a 200 degree oven to cook for the day.  Fast forward 6 hours and dinner was served. 

I guess I can face another cold day tomorrow now 🙂

Recipe:

4 lb chuck roast

2 cups baby carrots

one small onion

2 cups water

2 beef bouillon cubes

4 Tablespoons cornstarch

1 16 oz package egg noodles

Biscuit recipe is on the Bisquick box

Brown the chuck roast using a little plain or garlic flavored olive oil in a dutch oven (or use a frying pan if you don’t have one)

After browned put all the ingredients in the dutch oven (or a roasting pan) and cover

Place in a 200 degree oven for 6 hours

serve with egg noodles, biscuits and a nice salad.  PERFECTION!!

Image

browning

Image

ready for oven

Image

 

One thought on “Pot Roast

Leave a Reply

