“If you want something make it happen or make an excuse”

great aunt dottie

grace

Aunt Dottie with her mom and 2 brothers (the tall one is my maternal grandfather)

This is my great aunt Dottie.  I’ve mentioned before I come from a long line of independent women.  Aunt Dottie was the only girl in a family of 4 boys.  She is an adventurer.  In her mid 90’s now she still swims in the Lake, takes Tennis and is on a softball team.  She teaches water aerobics and does yoga.

She had 3 daughters and raised them on her own.  Sadly her oldest died of a brain aneurysm at an early age.  She worked hard and enjoyed all the good things in life like flying a plane and skydiving.  I love to listen to her stories of her life.

Her wisdom is an inspiration.  Her simple philosophy of life should be taught in schools.  She always said to us children to live life and not be afraid of failure.  If you get knocked down, get up.  You don’t deserve special treatment nor for anyone to take care of you if you are healthy enough to take care of yourself.  If you want something, make it happen or make an excuse.  I remember thinking it was mean when I was a child to say something like that.  As I’ve gotten older, I appreciate those words and the truth behind them.  And I am sharing those wonderful words of wisdom with my children.

She is coming to visit us in August and I can’t wait to see her and listen to her adventures over the last year!!

2 thoughts on ““If you want something make it happen or make an excuse”

  1. What an inspiring story and a great lady who swims in the Lake, takes Tennis and is on a softball team, at 90. That’s the kind of person I would love to be. Thanks for sharing and most for inspiring me . There are days when I tend to become sluggish so a reminder, once in a while, is a great thing!

Leave a Reply

