Potato Gardening in containers update

potatoes

My potatoes have been planted since May 9th in the containers (first time trying this).  These look small in the pictures but these containers are pretty large and now so heavy I can not move them anymore.  You can see they are filled to the top with soil and the pretty potato plants are healthy and strong.  Buried in that soil are hopefully about 25 lbs or more of Russet potatoes and New Red potatoes.  If the plants are any indication of how they are doing, you can see I should have a good yield!!

You start with a few seed potatoes and cover the vines with soil until you reach the top.  The pictures of how I started my containers as well as some updates are below:

Potato containers (first planted here) After a few weeks and having to add dirt to bury the vines as they grow (here)

I also planted carrots in containers and they are looking great.  I mixed gardening soil with sand in the containers and punched holes so the soil would drain as it would in the ground.  I have about 2 more weeks and I will begin harvesting them.

Carrots in containers (here)

Leave a Reply

