Crockpot Buffalo Chicken Wings

photo 3

We went to a meat raffle in the beginning of the year.  A meat raffle is like a basket raffle except with packages of meat from a  local butcher in our area.  There were many wonderful packages to try and win and I entered all of the good ones such as 5 lb pork roast, 8 lb ham, 14 lb turkey, 2 lbs shrimp/2 lbs bacon, and so on.  For some reason the man of the house put a ticket in a package that contained 3 lbs of chicken wings/3 lbs of chicken fingers.  Guess what we won…yes these are the wings.

I do not own a deep fryer.  I rarely ever fry anything and was at a loss as to what I was going to do with these wings.  I’ve tried oven baked before and they just are not what I like.  So I was very happy to see a recipe from another one of my favorite facebook pages, The Slow Roasted Italian.  She posted a recipe for crockpot Buffalo style chicken wings. (Recipe here).   Now that is right up my alley!!

So today while making another 8 jars of dilly beans and dill pickles, I quickly threw together this recipe and started up the crockpot.

When I removed them after 6 hours they were so tender the meat was almost falling off the bone.  I broiled them to crisp them up and coated them in a medium spiced hot sauce.  Needless to say they were a huge hit and so good with some farm fresh corn on the cob.

Below are my pictures of the process and you can find the recipe from the Slow Roasted Italian here.

photo 5-1 photo 4-1 photo 2photo 1photo 4photo 1-1 photo 3

3 thoughts on “Crockpot Buffalo Chicken Wings

Leave a Reply

