County Fair

fair fair2 fair3

I must admit I am a TOTAL crazy woman over our local County Fair.  See what it’s all about here.  

My friends know during this time I will spend every waking moment I can get away from work and be there with my children. We will get there by 10:45 a.m. and get home around midnight for the next few days.

I have a hard time understanding when people say..it’s always the same every year.  They just don’t know how to enjoy it.  This fair offers something to do for all 12 days it is here.  I usually take my children 8 to 9 days of the 12 it’s in town.  They offer “preferred parking” if you purchase it online and it’s close to the gaits to get in.  We pack a cooler with drinks and push a stroller with the cooler and our jackets, misting fans when it’s hot, and all our purchases. 

Our cooler is packed with food and snacks as I am not a huge “fair food” person.  Don’t get me wrong, I love trying the deep fried gummy bears and triple decker donut hamburger (think deep fried hamburgers) as well as the crazy french fries, onion rings, fried twinkies, oreos, turkey legs, and so on.  But I prefer to stick to food that makes me feel energized and have a few of those treats throughout our days.  So our cooler has grapes, peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, granola bars, and fruit snacks.  The kids don’t care either way as they’d rather eat from the cooler while waiting to take in one of the 30 or so free shows.  There is a balloon guy, a juggler, a clown, chinese acrobats, high flying trampoline boys, dog show, sea lion show, and new this year an alligator wrestler.  We will get the schedule tomorrow morning and I will circle each time/day we will watch a show.  Last year we were able to see every show and some of them more than once (ok the balloon guy and Indian dancers knew my kids names after all our visits).  Yes, I am a fanatic but it’s very inexpensive, offers many wonderful teachings about history (soap making, paper making, wood carving, displays of old time military outfits, horseshoe making) as well as cow shows, goats, pigs, chickens, rabbits and of course horses.  We have shown our horses at this fair also. 

I would love to share some of the pictures from previous years.  See days from last year with these links.  I promise you they are worth the time to look through.  You will understand why I love this time of year and why I soak in every minute I can with my family!!

Day 1

Day 2

Day 3

Day 4

Day 5

2012 pics

2 thoughts on “County Fair

  1. Pingback: August Blues | chase n chance ranch

Leave a Reply

