Night Lesson

cb2

Chase, Bailey and me!!

My heart skipped a beat when my daughter came home from cheer practice and said “I need to ride mom”.  I could not saddle up the horse fast enough. 

You see my children do not carry the same yearning for horseback riding as I did at their age.  They have been around horses since birth and sometimes I wonder if that is why.  I did not get a horse until I was 10 and felt like I missed out on many years of riding so I spent every waking moment with that horse.  I have trained under a few different horse trainers and I train horses.  But I am not as relaxed and laid back as my mother.  I think of all the bad things that could happen and was very strict on their riding forcing them to behave and worrying about the horse reacting if they were too nervous or explaining what their fast actions could cause the horse to do.  So you see, it was my fear feeding their fear.  So when I try to push them to ride more, I have to remember it was my fear that pushed them away in the first place.

I have given lessons to many children.  Our horses have shown in the local shows and Bailey in his younger days could not be beat.  He is a teacher and a true show horse in every sense of the word.  He knows his job and would teach the kids I was giving lessons to or having show him.

My kids do ride and they ride well but not as often as I would like.  They clean stalls and do afternoon feedings of the animals during the summer and on weekends.  They brush, fly spray, and bathe the horses.  But I would like them to eventually show our horses at the Fair and in local horse shows and enjoy the things I could not as we did not have the funds when I was growing up.

So that explains why I was so happy to hear those words tonight.  And I gave Chase a great lesson and she was happy to be able to ride around on her own for an hour before it was too dark and getting very chilly for her barefeet!!  Maybe this will be the start to her inner “horse” calling 🙂

chase bailey

squaring her shoulders and staying straight

cb3

Working on rein hold for showing

Leave a Reply

