Remembering…

flag

I try to keep my blog upbeat, positive, and fun, exactly how I try to live my life.  This post will not be long but it is important to me to remember how our country, innocent people rather, were attacked and killed on 9/11/01.

I was at a charity meeting for our local childrens hospital.  I had asked my boss to take a few hours off work to attend this meeting which was being held to host an event to raise money for a very important piece of equipment which would better the care of sick children.  In the midst of planning the events while enjoying coffee and bagels someones cell phone rang.  Within seconds, literally, every person in the room who had a cell phone saw their phones were ringing also.  Within that minute our lives were FOREVER changed.

We could not get out of that meeting quick enough to get home to our loved ones, sit by the television and watch in horror at what was unfolding around us.

I live in upstate New York.  I am 7 hours away from the city and as I was driving home, I was passing firetrucks and policemen who were already on their way to the city to help.  They had no idea the severity of the situation at that point, yet there they were unselfishly heading the 7 hours away to help secure the situation.  Little did they know they were needed to replace all of the lost souls of their brotherhood.

That disgusting act of cowardness has forever changed the way I look at the world.  I grew up instantly from that moment on realizing I was now an adult in a sometimes evil world.

However, that moment will not steal any more of my joy.  I gave them a week of sadness, fear, confusion, sleeplessness, and unhappiness.  I then realized those terrorists did not deserve to win the battle they so cowardly launched by me falling into their sickening trap of instilling fear and powerlessness into our country.  Screw them (to be blunt!!)

So tomorrow I will feel for the families who lost their loved ones in this tragedy and pray for their peace, but I will be positive and look to the future knowing the cowards DID NOT WIN!!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

