Fall Gardening

celery

Certain items do so well in the fall.  The temps here are around 55 – 65 during the day and 39-45 at  night.

Right now our Celery is thriving.  I have 6 bunches growing and they are all perfect just like the one above.

Brussel Sprouts are another fall item here.  They take a looong time to produce and ours are starting to produce finally now.  I have 12 plants and they all have nice little “babies” forming.  We harvest them on the small side as we prefer them that way when we cook them.  These plants have about another 10 – 12 days before we will harvest.

brussel

These little hardy Cherry Tomatoes are still hanging in there.  They are a great snack at night or for lunch!!

cherry

And it’s nice to be greeted by the zinnia still in bloom when entering the garden!!

zinnia

3 thoughts on “Fall Gardening

    • I did not this year. I planted these later in the season as I had found them at small farmers market as little sproutlets in the plastic containers. I bought 12 of them and we have used 6 so far. It is really fresh and tastes great plain, in soups, and in macaroni salads, potato salads etc. It’s very easy to grow from seed also. I wasn’t going to plant it this year for more pumpkin room but you can see how well that went lol

  1. My garden is all but gone. I’m still gathering lots of tomatoes and a few herbs which makes me happy. When I return to Houston my gardening will be mostly in pots.

Leave a Reply

