Freezing Pies

IMG_0888

When fruits are in season, it’s always good to make a few pies to freeze.  They make great gifts for housewarming, babies, get well, Holidays and just as a treat in the cold winter months.

Tonight we processed the last of our apples from our trees and made a few more apple pies to freeze.   I always pick up a few packs of the tin pie dishes.  You can get 8.5, 9, or 10 inch and if lucky I can sometimes find a deep dish tin.  These are the best to use for freezing your pies so you don’t have to use your glass dishes.  Before freezing I like to wrap them tightly in cling wrap.  I will then freeze them individually.   Once frozen, I place them on top of each other in a large freezer bag.

Our freezer is now stocked with 6 apple, 6 cherry, and 4 blueberry pies.  You can pick up cute pie boxes at your local craft store and decorate with ribbon for a nice gift.  Sometimes I will bake the pie before I give them away and other times I leave it frozen with directions how to bake on the inside of the box.  You bake them exactly as you would a store bought pie (30-35 minutes at 375 covering the crust after 15 minutes).

Here’s the last pie pictures we made for the season.  This one will be for 4th of July 2015.  The tween decorated it with our last name initial.

You can find my apple pie recipe here:  Apple Pie

IMG_0881 IMG_0882 IMG_0883

IMG_0884 IMG_0885 IMG_0886

IMG_0887 IMG_0888 IMG_0889

4 thoughts on “Freezing Pies

    • It always makes such a nice gift and I try to find really unique boxes to gift them in. My Italian grandmother used to freeze them as she used her jars for “the gravy” and didn’t want to invest in more jars she told me.

Leave a Reply

