Magic Cake

IMG_1870

Pieces set up to sell at the bake sale 

A magic cake is a cake that separates into 3 layers while it bakes.  I have never made a magic cake and decided on a whim to make it for our school bake sale.  I made it the night before and it was set up to sell before I even had a taste of it.  I was told by someone who purchased a piece that it was fabulous!!  Rich and creamy custard in the middle with a nice light layer of cake on top and bottom.  It sold out in about 20 minutes!!

TBTFeatured-1

This was a very easy cake to make.  I used my hand mixer for the egg whites and the stand mixer for the rest.  Very few ingredients as well.

IMG_1851 IMG_1850

Separate the eggs and bring to room temperature by letting sit our for 1/2 hour (notice how yellow/orange the yolks are, that is because these are farm fresh eggs from our chickens who are fed greens, corn, vegetables, and crumble to keep them healthy and producing the freshest eggs).

IMG_1852 IMG_1854

Beat the egg whites until stiff (this takes a few minutes on high speed)

IMG_1853 IMG_1855

Next mix the eggs and sugar until light in color and smooth and then add the melted butter and vanilla mixing well (about 2 minutes)

IMG_1856 IMG_1857

Add the flour slowly 1/4 cup at a time and scrape sides.  Slowly add in the lukewarm milk on medium speed and scrape sides and bottom again to ensure all is mixed well.  The batter should be runny and thin.

IMG_1859 IMG_1860

Gently fold in the egg whites with a spatula and use a whisk gently to break up some of the lumps.  It should look like the second picture by the time you are finished.

IMG_1861 IMG_1862

Pour into a very well greased and floured 8×8 pan or use parchment paper as I did.  Bake at 325 degrees until the top is a light brown.  In my oven it took 40 minutes.  *The middle may still appear liquidy but that is ok it will harden.  You want the entire top just lightly browned as in the picture.

Let cool a bit.  Store in the refrigerator overnight or for at least 4 hours so the custard cools and sets up.

IMG_1870

The magic happens and you get a 3 layer cake with very little effort and a great custard filling!!

Needless to say…I will be making one this week for our family as the kids really wanted to try it.  There are variations all over the internet on how to make this and also other flavors.  I actually used a few different websites so will post exactly how I made ours below:

4 egg separated and brought to room temperature

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup melted butter (one stick)

2 tsp. vanilla extract

3/4 cup flour (I used a 1/4 cup measuring each into the bowl while mixing separately 3 times)

2 cups lukewarm milk (I microwaved mine for about 30 seconds and stirred it before adding)

Powdered sugar for dusting before serving (optional)

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Grease and flour an 8×8 square pan or line with parchment paper.

Beat the egg whites until stiff and set aside

Beat the yolks and sugar until light and well mixed on medium speed.  Add the butter and vanilla mixing another 2 minutes and then add the flour and mix well.

Slowly pour in the lukewarm milk while mixing.  If need be scrape the sides and bottom to make sure everything is mixed well and let beat approximately 1 minute.

Add the egg whites by spatula folding gently in using about 2 batches.  Use a whisk gently to break up the lumps in the batter.

Pour into the pan and let bake until the top is lightly browned (approximately 40 minutes).

Cool completely and chill.  Dust with powdered sugar before serving.

20 thoughts on “Magic Cake

  1. How fun! I love the idea of a cake that separates into layers. Thank you for sharing this with us at Treasure Box Tuesday- I have pinned, and will be featuring your cake at our party this week! We get started tomorrow evening (Monday, 3/16) at 8:00 p.m. Eastern time. Hope yo see you soon!

  2. Totally drooling! You were our most clicked feature for this week’s (mis)Adventure’s Mondays Blog Hop. I can not wait to see what you share this week!

  3. Pingback: Treasure Box Tuesday 63 - Memories By The Mile
  4. Oh my, your magic cake looks incredibly delicious! I’ve never made one before. Definitely going to bake this, my husband loves custard! Thank you for sharing! Have a great week! 🙂 ~Christine

  5. Yum, I want to try this! I’m not a big cake lover, but anything custardy sounds delicious! Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

  6. Greetings. I’m having a dinner party on Friday and I’m going to serve your cake as dessert. I plan on making it tomorrow so it can sit in the frig. It reminds me a little of the Greek dessert Galaktoboureko. Thanks so much for posting such a great tutorial and recipe 🙂

  7. Pingback: (mis)Adventures Mondays Blog Hop March 16, 2015 – The (mis)Adventures of a Homesteadin’ Mama

Leave a comment